They’re Still Here

As the sun set low on the horizon, the air traffic began to pick up once again. It was common in Florida to have mosquitos everywhere. But this time, it wasn’t just mosquitos.  Visions of the night before were vivid in our minds.  While standing in the saloon on the Flying Dutchman, I was looking for some paper to write down our address for our new friends, when out of the pages of a book came several earwigs.  As I moved a newspaper, out came a few more.  Every time I moved something, more earwigs appeared.  It was obvious we hadn’t gotten rid of these bugs.

At the marina there was a motel  and a restaurant/ bar.  It was a large facility. We knew right away that we were not going to get any sleep with these bugs on board.  So we took a walk over to the office to inquired about getting a room.  On the way over I felt something moving around in my deck shoe and proceeded to kick my shoe off about 10 feet up ahead of me. Those earwigs were hiding in the soles of my shoes.    Think I had the hebegebies!

Upon arrival at the office we found  there were no  vacancies due to the holiday weekend.  Miss Boston, our friend/passenger on the Aruban Queen, offered to let us stay in her room.  Oddly enough, the closet in her room was the size of a small bedroom and she told us we could set up a bed in there and sleep.  Her offer was as good as staying in the Hilton, because neither of us wanted to sleep where there was a bug infestation.

The next day we went right out and bought Raid Bug Smokers and fumigated the Flying Dutchman.  It seemed to get rid of most of the earwigs, but at night there was always  one or two crawling around.

I think what bothered us the most was the old “wives tale” that earwigs burrowed into the brains of humans through the ear and  laid their eggs.  Earwigs are predisposed to hiding in warm humid crevices and may indeed occasionally crawl into the human ear canal.  That was enough for me to decide I wasn’t sleeping with these things around.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earwig

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “They’re Still Here”

  1. mikidemillion Says:

    What a nightmare. Reminds me of that old Twilight Zone episode and I would have high-tailed out of there as well. Not fond of creepy crawlies.

    • wenchhandle Says:

      I will leave a whole room to a critter. Although as time goes on, I try to catch and release. But those damn things always swam back to the boat. Wouldn’t take no for an answer.

  2. Zen Says:

    I remember that movie!!

Leave a Reply

